Spotlight on: Rona Keller

Every now and then I stumble across an amazing photographer on flickr who’s self portraits are not only gorgeous but inspiring. Rona Keller is a 21-year-old young woman from Germany who’s use of light, composition and sometimes unusual poses create some magical vignettes.

“Ever since I first started taking photos in 2007, photography has taught me how to express myself with more than words.”

“It allows me to capture a moment when it happens, as well as when it’s already over and I failed to document it, because a photo can say so much about other people even when they’re not in them, about a place I’ve been to even though I didn’t take it there, about a feeling that has changed a long time ago, about everything as it was and never might be like. Thus, my photos are a diary for those who are able to read them.”

Some of her portraits are just parts of the body, or even the backs of people’s heads, but they are just as interesting as a face, sometimes it reads stronger.

For each photo she also includes some thoughts which then reads like a journal and at other times are short and straightforward descriptions. I found myself clicking on nearly every photo in her flickr stream and reading for awhile.

her tagline: “That girl right there will make it on her own”

“right now I don’t know what will come next, but I know that I have a whole new life ahead of me. and I know that I want to develop. I want to change. I want to make it on my own.”  September 6 – 12, 2010

2 comments

  1. ronaaa

    Even if I’m very late, it was such a lovely surprise to stumble upon this article today. Thank you so much for what you said! 🙂

Leave a Reply

