Sunset with Flash – on Alameda Beach

For my first shoot of 2015 I met up with Jackie who also lives in Alameda just before sunset at Robert Crown Memorial Beach. I got lucky that the tide was super low, and the sky was creating some amazing shades of oranges, violets and blues.  This first outfit the sun was still very bright and it was harder than I anticipated getting the right balance. I def need more practice, but fortunately my model was patient.

The sun sinking into the fog was exceptional that evening and I managed to mix this light just how I wanted.
The tide was so low that she could walk through the tide pools and have some interesting puddles reflections to stand in while the sky became soft and almost like a watercolor.This last image is my favorite and is all natural light as the sun was just about gone. One last bit of sunset hitting the side of her face and a pinky-purple sky was so romantic looking. This was my favorite image of the shoot.

Can’t wait to shoot here again! The winter sunsets are amazing in the Bay.

Leave a Reply

